Cactus Flower Moon on Skywatch Friday

Two striking photos this week.

The clear bright blue Autumn sky above a lovely Cactus flower,multi hued leaning over the front yard wall. I have never seen this cactus bloom in multi-color until this year and never so tall ,about 11 feet up!

Very glad I took this picture when I did, the ladies next door cut it down to use about 3 hours later!

This sliver of a moon rose about 6 pm tonight, I took this on my way home from work. Outside temp about 76 degrees , a lovely Autumn moonrise and a cooling trend on the way, perfection or close enough!

See more Skies from around the globe @ :

http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Cactus Flower Moon on Skywatch Friday

  1. The cactus flower is so pretty! Love the shot of the crescent moon too.

  2. What great, creative shots! I love them! I also love clear, blue skies and being able to see the moon! But, of course, I live in Seattle and at this time of year, both of those are hard to come by! Thanks for brightening the day/evening!

    Have a great weekend!

    Sylvia

  3. Great photos, I especially like the cactus!

  4. That’s very creative shot!

    My Sky Watch Friday

  5. both great shots! i am always amazed when cactii bloom- the flowers seem so soft compared to the rest of the plant.

  6. Love the cactus – I rarely get to see any of those – and surely never one blooming.
    Around here we get the fake flowers pasted on them.

  7. Love the photo of the blooming cactus!
    Moon shots are always a favorite!
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  8. Wonderful photos, I love the cactus blooms and the sky and the moon shot. Happy skywatching.

  9. Yep, great blue skies! Interesting cactus, too. Nice colors on the flowers. We actually got a little bit of rain yesterday. Today? Blue skies again! Happy skywatching and thanks for visiting my post.

  10. Ayeen

    Wow! These are great photos! I can’t believe that cactus grew so high and you caught it just in time! Good work.

  11. I’m behind…. these are lovely shots you got. Love that cactus – very unusual and not something I can ever hope to see around here.

    Hope you are doing okay, Janis.

  12. totally striking! Wow!

Blog at WordPress.com.