Skywatch Friday On a Rung & a Prayer

First you must know the Inland So Cal area had wind warnings up for the entire region.

When these photos were taken we had a steady 25-30 mph with 40-55 mph gusts.

I was at the Post Office across the street when I saw this pair at work on the roof of St. Edward’s church. They were rigging a ladder to the bell tower in the most frightening,3-stooges manner I have ever seen.

There were many ropes, loops,sticks,too short a ladder and most of a wooden pallet.

Nobody seemed to be watching all this except me , I took the photos and had my phone ready to dial 911 should they fall or be blown off the edge!

All went well and after about 25 minutes my letters were mailed and they were both back on terra firma. I went across the street and asked them what on earth they were doing up there in these winds, they replied they were painting the tower!

By hand with brushes! almost 4 stories up and no scaffolding! Yikes!

Really truly “on a rung and a prayer”!

Thanks to the Sky Watch team – Klaus, Sandy, Wren, Fishing Guy and Sylvia.

For more sky views see:

http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Skywatch Friday On a Rung & a Prayer

  1. nice photo’s..Happy Sky Watching

  2. Nice shots. The sky looks great. The wind sounds like Santa Ana winds. They bring back many memories of chapped lips. 🙂

  3. Great.

  4. Beautiful set. The blue sky is brilliant.

  5. Yikes is right lol! I think those guys were either brave or nuts!

  6. uberrhund

    2. Sylvia Kirkwood | February 25, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Great post, beautiful skies and I can always use a laugh!! Glad someone was watching out for those guys on the ladder!! One job I think I’d pass on!! Hope you have a great weekend!

    Sylvia

  7. uberrhund

    3. Laura Hegfield | February 26, 2010 at 3:19 am

    Wow that is some story! My husband would consider this a possibly Darwin award entry. The photos are lovely.

  8. Nice and spiritual photos for skywatch 🙂

    Pixellicious Photos

  9. I’ll let you into a secret (don’t often admit to it online) – I’m a Health and Safety Inspector. Just looking at those photos make me feel worried. Just glad they weren’t taken near the area I work! Lovely church though! xo

  10. We have high winds here in Maryland too, maybe I should go out and take pictures too–yours certainly look lovely!

  11. Certainly a very windy day for their towering painting job! Nice photos, and as always love the palm trees.

Blog at WordPress.com.