Skywatch Friday Not so Glee-fully Demolished

We are in the weather pattern here in So Cal known as “June Gloom”  the forecast is the same daily , “We will be having late night and early morning low clouds and fog burning off to hazy afternoon sunshine with highs in the Inland Valley toward the upper 70s/low 80s” This will continue until next week for sure maybe longer.

With that in mind I did not have much of a Skywatch to post today  until I saw this happening as I drove home from the Post Office:

This is Centennial High School and they are demolishing the auditorium and adjacent rooms I am not sure what will be replacing these buildings. The campus is only 21 years old so I have to think that additional space in a different configuration is needed.  I hope the programs that were housed within those walls are not being pared down or eliminated . The gaping maw seen in picture two was once the Choir and Band rooms with the Drama dept beyond that. The other wing held Chefs classes with the auditorium in the center. My Daughter attended Centennial  and spent many,many hours in these rooms…aaahhh memories!

Hey, does anyone remember the tune to “We’re going to the Mall on Saturday”? No?

Then just “Raise your Glass!” in a toast goodbye to Centennial’s  old choir room!

See more interesting sky at:

http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Skywatch Friday Not so Glee-fully Demolished

  1. magicalmysticalteacher

    You’d think that after a mere 21 years, they’d find a use for the building and campus instead of demolishing it. The high school I graduated from in Denver is still standing and in use as a high school nearly 100 years after being built!

    RED SKY IN MORNING

    Red sky in morning,
    Sailors take warning!

    Who knows what might happen out on the sea?
    Waves riding high,
    Waves to the sky,
    Waves crashing and dashing all over me!

    Red sky at night,
    Sailors delight!

    Leeward or windward we sail with no fear;
    Water is calm,
    Healing like balm—
    Ahoy, fellow sailors, landfall is near!

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Oahu Coast and Sky

  2. uberrhund

    Oh don’t worry, they are not tearing down the entire campus , just this building to make way for something else, I don’t know what that will be yet. The campus is growing and thriving, just finished a new field and stadium last year .

  3. Probably something newer and bigger and much more expensive. I loved the old gyms with their “towering” (they don’t seem to be all that tall any more) basketball courts and cutesy mascots (the Garden Grove High School Argonauts and the Lone Pine High School Eagles come immediately to mind). Too bad they couldn’t just add on rather than tear down. Great shots, though. I’m terribly fond of the way the sky forms a dramatic backdrop to all manner of human activities.

  4. Yes, we are having June gloom! I love construction shots. They’re re-building our on and off ramps, on the 15, too exciting.

  5. Ayleen

    That’s soo weird that they are tearing down the auditorium and arts room. Oh and thanks for getting that damn song stuck in my head!

  6. I too live in Southern CA, and I’m really tired of this overcast…I want a pedicure and a new pair of sandals, for crying out loud!!!

  7. Living in London I’m very…very use to overcast days with lifeless grey skies. When the sky does periodically turn blue it is a nice change!

    The first picture with the image on the side of the building is a great capture…

  8. Wow, amazing what passes for “old” in California these days. Remind me to keep my old bones well across the border!

Blog at WordPress.com.