July 15th Full Thunder Moon

I have no photo of my own for the July full moon to offer here so I will instead link you to Space.com and their map of our night sky.

http://www.space.com/12303-full-moon-july-2011-names.html

The night here in Southern California started out clear enough but by the time I remembered to go outside and get a photograph the “late night and early morning clouds” and a little fog had crept over the Santa Ana mountains obscuring my view…and yours.

This moon is called the Full Thunder Moon due to the nature of the weather across North America this time of year and it also goes by The Full Buck moon so names by Northeastern Algonquin tribes because now is the time when male deer grow new antlers,they are still soft and fuzzy like a cat tail plant along a river bank at mid-Summer.

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

One thought on “July 15th Full Thunder Moon

  1. I was at the dentist office the other day and they called me back, “Janis.” I got up and they said, “No, the other Janis.” The only other person in the room was a young woman (under 30?). We were both Janis! And then, on almost the same day, you and the CA Janis commented on Greensboro Daily Photo. That’s 4 people with the name Janis!

Blog at WordPress.com.