Skywatch Friday Autumn Antique Market

Last Sunday I went the the Long Beach Antique Market to do a little browsing,a little buying and walk a long way back and forth through the stadium parking lot!

It was a cool, crisp autumn morning that all of a sudden turned into very warm Indian Summer afternoon around 11 am! There was a 40 degree temperature swing that day.

The first two photos are of the Douglas Aircraft (Boeing since 1997) plant on Lakewood Blvd. built in 1941 on the eve of WWII. You can read more of the history here:

http://www.boeing.com/commercial/facilities/longbeachsite.html

http://www.boeing.com/history/narrative/n026dou.html

This block of 3 huge buildings are all that remain of a company that once covered at least 3  city blocks on this site and across Lakewood Blvd.and Carson.

I love the old Douglas DC class sign that still sits proudly atop the manufacturing hanger.

I found some great stuff for resale at the swap and even a few things just for me which doesn’t always happen. The Franciscan Autumn pattern pitcher was a real bargain and I am really pleased with the way it looks with the turkey figure and Schilling graphic spice tin I also bought Sunday.

I brought these 3 all home for less than $8 ! Amazing! It is all about being in the right place at the right time and talking to the right people.

See more of the Autumn sky at:

http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Skywatch Friday Autumn Antique Market

  1. My mom worked at Douglas during the war but I think it was in Santa Monica. This made me think of her and all of the things she accomplished during her long life.

  2. Nice Shots! Love the last one!

  3. You did find some good things at the swap. I like the way the roof top structures at the airplane plant look against the sky.

  4. Good shots of the sign.
    Sydney – City and Suburbs

  5. Simply gorgeous!

    My Sky Watch, happy weekend!

  6. The signs make such a great backdrop. Your post reminds me that is time to put my beloved Halloween away and start thinking Thanksgiving. I purchased two vintage Thanksgiving postcards last week.

    NC Janis

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.