Skywatch Friday On the Road

These photos are of the Arizona desert which we were driving across on the way home from a holiday trip last week.

They are right out of the camera and I am surprised at the quality considering they were both taken from the backseat of a vehicle going about 75 mph!

The Palo Verde Nuclear Power Plant under a large steam cloud on a chilly afternoon. This is the largest nuclear plant in the United States and also the only one that does not border a natural large body of water. The cooling is managed by use of treated sewage water from nearby cities which is treated again at the plant then held for evaporative cooling in an 80 acre reservoir. I always know I am almost to Phoenix when I see the columns of steam from the cooling towers.

The beginning of a classic Southwestern sunset to share and enjoy.

It is already Hanukkah,today marked the Winter Solstice and Christmas Day is upon us this weekend.However you celebrate may it be happy,merry,peaceful and conclude with a feast!

 

To see more of the sky above us all go to:

http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Skywatch Friday On the Road

  1. Great shots from the car! Best wishes for the holiday season; thinking of you. 🙂

  2. Wow – what marvellous shots!

  3. A great ‘cloud factory’ (as the kids call them) shot. Hope you have a fantastic Christmas and an even better new year xo

  4. Beautiful captures. I never get tired of the classic SW sunsets! Happy holidays.

  5. Back when I used to drive home to California at least once a year, the same vista served as a milepost. I haven’t thought about it in years, though (it’s been at least 7 years since I last made that drive) and these shots took me back. Hope you have a terrific new year; I’m looking forward to getting back to Skywatch Fridays and seeing what folks are up to.

Blog at WordPress.com.