Skywatch Friday Bird is the word

The days are lengthening and heating up under cloudless skies in preparation for the parching of Summer that awaits. By the turn of a calendar page or two the very thought that yesterday was too hot will be laughable.

                                  

My war with the paper wasps has been joined by a small Sparrow or Finch with flashy red feathers accessorizing his basic brindle plumage. I have not seen this type of bird in the area before and although he has built a nest in the front eaves I have no intention of removing his household as I normally would. Why? He has been shooing away the paper wasps! His song is not nearly as annoying as the effing Mockingbird that takes up residence in the backyard every Summer or the Grackles & Starlings that choose to infest the Ficus across the street in droves. I have decided to tell myself that I “like” the birds,they eat bugs,are entertaining in the sprinkler and as the sun sets take Hitchcock-esque flights to dine before returning to their leafy homes.

The only one who really has my goodwill is the fat little Mourning Dove who sits atop the utility pole above her bushy home early in the morning just “coo-coo-coo-ing” quietly to her world. Why doesn’t the damn Mockingbird learn to mock her instead of the car alarm down the street?

The photo of the sparrow on the porch rail was taken through the screen door so as not to bother him while he sang and bug watched. I used my new Droid  Bionic’s camera that I am still learning to manage. I think they are pretty good considering. Did I mention I super ❤ love ❤ my new phone? No? well I do!

See more skywatch at: http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Skywatch Friday Bird is the word

  1. sylviakirk

    Beautiful blue skies and lovely birds! Doesn’t get any better! Terrific captures for the day! Hope you have a great weekend!

    Sylvia

  2. Exciting pictures you are viewing, enjoyed all!
    Ottar

  3. Gorgeous! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Sky Shots in Disney World, please come and see.

  4. Great shots of the sky and birds with your new phone! I use my phone a lot to take pics. It’s so much easier to carry around than the heavy SLR. Enjoy the day.

  5. Christina

    Beautiful blue sky, and great shots of the birds! Happy SkyWatch Friday! Enjoy your new phone!

  6. Great photos! Shaping up to be a lovely weekend here in S. CA.

Blog at WordPress.com.