Sky Watch Friday Meet me at the Mission

This has been a busy week in the sky what with an Annular Eclipse,the launch of SpaceX and the crispy wind blown Blue sky over Southern California all week.

I made a pin hole viewer to watch the eclipse with the neighbors in the front yard,lots of fun!

Last Friday I went with family to Mission San Juan Capistrano (the Jewel of the California Missions) to take the tour and see all the gardens in Springtime.

I had not been inside the mission in 20 years and the restorations done in that time are just beautiful and well done. I had only been there in Fall and Winter before never seeing the Spring gardens…all native plants in full bloom with great swaths of purple,magenta and orange!

The ruins of the original chapel are immense and let you feel a little bit like Indiana Jones (ok,maybe Shortround) as they loom over you in the noonday sun.

Here is a little slice of our day and a link to more information about Mission San Juan Capistrano.

http://www.missionsjc.com/

See more sky views at: http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Sky Watch Friday Meet me at the Mission

  1. Beautiful gardens!! Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  2. A blast from the past!! I visited the mission on my honeymoon. We had a picnic in the garden. A really beautiful place and beautifully cool inside!! Would love to return one day, thanks for the reminder. Have a fab weekend x

  3. I’m featuring a church today too.
    Sydney – City and Suburbs

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.