Skywatch Friday at the Mission Inn Riverside CA

Since I have been sharing photos of a real California Mission the last two weeks I thought this week I would share one closer to home,with a different purpose and just as historic.

The Mission Inn Hotel in Riverside California under hazy late spring skies.

Built as a Guest House in 1876 the Mission Inn has sprawled and thrived under the original builder,Frank Miller and his family as well as the current owner Duane Roberts. The hotel has played host to host to 10 United States Presidents from a stop over by Theodore Roosevelt to Richard and Pat Nixon’s wedding.

Mr. Miller was famous for going to great lengths to make his guests comfortable and had a special,hand carved, over-sized chair made just for the visit and dining room seating of President Taft. Mr Taft was rotund at near 350 lbs and had recently endured whispers of being stuck in the White House bathtub. He was both pleased and angry at the special chair.

On a personal note I remember touring the Mission Inn as a kid when the Catacombs were still open and no restoration work had been done. These “catacombs” were really storage and cooling tunnels that kept workers  and staff of the few large main buildings downtown out of the dust of the roads,Santa Ana winds and heat of the Summer days. They ran all over under the Inn,across the street to the Fox theater building (They had the West Coast Premier of Gone With The Wind!) and had many,many rooms off the the sides of their dark cool halls. Of course it was rumored to be haunted.

My little photos do not do any justice to the old hotel. Please do go bookmark the Mission Inn site and explore it at your leisure and perhaps someday you will come visit the Mission too!

http://www.missioninn.com/about-the-hotel/index.cfm

The pictures are lovely and be sure to click on the History of the hotel links once there, enjoy.

See more sky above at :  http://skyley.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Skywatch Friday at the Mission Inn Riverside CA

  1. Fantastic photos for SWF!Thank you for sharing and have a nice weekend!

  2. Beautiful place, I love the palm trees and those dark pink flowering plants in pots, bougainvilleas maybe. 🙂

    • uberrhund

      Yes Diane, those are Bougainvilleas! Very well cared for and tamed ones!

  3. I like the architecture a lot. Beautiful shots and interesting post.

  4. Captured so beautifully!

    Here’s my Skyshots.

  5. Interesting, I wasn’t familiar with this hotel.

  6. a grand old building for Skywatch

  7. Wonderful post! The Mission Inn has been on my “to see” list for my wife and I forever, and somehow we just haven’t made time for it.

  8. I loved this. My mother’s mother and I were both married at the Mission Inn. Alas, neither marriage “took,” but my first wedding was memorable in many ways. One of these was heat; we were married on August 24th, 1968 (an anniversary of the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius in CE 79), and the temperature was about 120F. My grandmother (my father’s mother) cancelled the champagne punch we had ordered because she was afraid everybody would be too smashed to drive home. We had fruit punch instead, and the tipplers had to wait until they got back to my uncle’s house in Huntington Beach to indulge. So thanks for the trip down that particular path. I don’t imagine that Augusts have gotten any cooler than they were back then, either.

Blog at WordPress.com.