Darning Socks

This edition of ABC Wednesday here at my blog is brought to you by the Letter D.

IMG_1928

Darning thread for the repair on socks and hosiery seems to be a thing of the past. This little 1 3/4″ X 3″ box of Darning Silk Thread contained many colored strands wound on these tiny wooden spools to be used in the repair of socks.

I have been known to Darn my socks when there is a small hole in the toe or heel of a favorite pair that is not easy or cheap to replace. The reaction to this act of Darning is often Damning, with people saying things like “Who does that anymore?” “Just go buy a pair of socks” “Oh my gosh, you are so cheap!”.

In answer to the above I reply: I like to do mending and darning,I find it soothing. The socks I bother to repair are ones I love, like the Heather Grey pair made of  very soft Bamboo fiber. I know I am cheap, frugal, a tightwad at times, thanks for noticing!

See more of the world of the letter D at: http://abcwednesday-mrsnesbitt.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Darning Socks

  1. Very cool. Some of my earliest memories are of my mother darning socks.

  2. wish i had the talent…
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  3. Not my cup of tea, wish I could.

    Discover
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team

  4. I remember; we never threw “holy” socks away. Darning was de rigeur.

  5. Good for you! One of the lost arts, – I’m sure I became a weaver because I learned so well how to darn – same basic technique. Love your old fashioned box of darning silks.

Blog at WordPress.com.