Old photos

Old photos are treasure. Each one is a frozen moment in time with a story to go along with that moment and all the moments leading up to it and all those that will follow. Old photos are like a random paragraph from the center of a book.

BeaRedCrossDogFlag

Their true original tale may have been lost to time as the photos changed hands through generations of family members who may or may not remember the stories attached to each face looking out from snapshots of picnics and weddings long ago. Photos that have lost their families and found their way to estates sales and antique markets will inspire entirely new background stories by those who gather them in and bring them back to life as artwork and collections pieces.

This photo in this post is of my great-aunt Bea in her Red Cross uniform under and Old Oak with Old Glory waving above her head held by my future Mother who was in Jr. High at the time this was taken on Bremerton Island WA during WWII. The little Boston terrier was known to one and all as Suzie.

See more of the letter O at:  http://abcwednesday-mrsnesbitt.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Old photos

  1. “Old photos are like a random paragraph from the center of a book”, beautifully said! I love, love old pictures.

  2. I LOVE this picture!

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  3. That’s a fantastic old shot. Old photos can hold so many memories. Carver, ABC Wed. Team

  4. Love old photos. If only my mother in law had put names and information on them. I would then have some family history which is now forever lost…

  5. What a great take on O! I love those old shots, and you described their treasured status so well.

  6. Old photos are priceless!! Your picture is wonderful, what a great looking lady doing a great job. I share your passion.

  7. lesliebc

    Oh! I love to look at old photos like these. I have lots of my parents – my Dad in his RCAF uniform and my Mom looking like a princess!

    Leslie
    abcw team

Blog at WordPress.com.