Dutch Boy Paint

dutchboy1

Around 1907 The National Lead Company decided to use a mascot for their sturdy, Basic White paint…A little Dutch Boy. Since then the name Dutch Boy Paint meant Quality Paint, which up until the 1970s contained massive amounts of white lead pigments, toxic as can be!

Dutch-Boy-Paints-Building-Sign

I had two uncles who were professional house painters and went to the local Dutch Boy store with them often when I was a kid in the 1960s. They both swore by Dutch Boy products from the 1950s through the 1970s and just for the record they both lived well into their 80s, no signs of lead poisoning.

See more of the letter D at: http://abcwednesday-mrsnesbitt.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Dutch Boy Paint

  1. I love the vintage dutch boy you started with. Interesting post. Carver, ABC Wed. Team

  2. The vintage spin on the letters is great! I think the whole lead paint issue isn’t completely understood.

  3. lesliebc

    I remember seeing that little Dutch boy on other products, too, I think.

    Leslie
    abcw team

  4. Besides the Dutch Paint there was also Old Dutch Cleanser, – great product. Nice post, Janis – stirs the memories.

  5. Don’t know when it was, but I remember when they updated y=the pic to be more modern; think it was the bottom pic, but not sure.
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  6. So may be this is one word Dutch that has a better meaning than all the others , i wrote in the . introduction. Great post!
    Wil, ABCW Team

  7. I didn’t know they had been around so long.
    That is a wordy advertisement..
    Nowadays no one would even read that. I love it though. I collect old ads and find them fascinating and a great channel of history.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.