UNCOLA 7UP

Late in 1967 the 7UP company began a pop art oriented ad campaign with their new slogan The “UN-COLA”. The art is very much a part of the early 1970s culture and I am sure sold many bottles and cans of 7UP!

7up

Tin full color Flange sign.

7up2Vending Machine insert sign

See more of the Unusual letter “U” at :http://abcwednesday-mrsnesbitt.blogspot.com/

UPDATE: Roger Green commented below with a great memory of Geoffrey Holder as the Un-Cola nut advert, see link in comment. Thank you Roger for leading me to this.

While I was watching that video I saw this one in the sidebar and it is one of the most entertaining and creatively educational things I have ever watched, please enjoy the talent of Mr. Geoffrey Holder: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w45Hpocfw_I

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “UNCOLA 7UP

  1. more memories – the theme song, and that series of commercials with Geoffrey Holder, like this one – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tAiEFhNHZk

  2. Uberrhund’s UNCOLA Wow!!! Loved this series.

  3. Colourful signs! I like those colours.
    Good choice for U.

    Wil, A BCW Team

  4. lesliebc

    Oh gosh! I remember it being advertised as the Un-Cola!

    Leslie
    abcw team

  5. Love those psychedelic colours, and the push against the ubiquitous cola.

  6. Here is a link to just one of my 7Up UnCola “sets” on Flickr featuring their advertising graphics from 1969 – 1975 +/-:

    1971 60"x45" 7Up UnCola "The Light Shining Over The Dark" vintage poster by Pat Dypold #7Upvintage

    There’s a lot of great illustrations in the collective body of work orchedtrated by the “Midwest Mad Men” at J Walter Thompson [advertising] Company of Chicago.

Blog at WordPress.com.