Antrol Ant poison

I am going to give round 14 of ABC Wednesday a theme for my posts: Garden and Garage Antiques and vintage products.

No signs will be included in this round.

antrol

Starting off with Letter A as in Antrol Ant poison! These little green bottles were embossed and the sides had a raised pebble pattern to mark them as being poison even if you couldn’t see it, only feel the bottle. Manufactured from the early 1920s through the early 1960s these bottles also were made in clear and Amber, most of the glass work was from Owens-Illinois Company which can be identified by the letter “I” in an oval of “()” like this : (I) .

Antrol really did work well because it was a syrup of Arsenic and sugar made to both lure and kill.

I don’t think Antrol in the original formula has been sold since the early 1960s. I remember seeing these little bottles in gardens well into the 70s though I am sure they were being refilled with some other ant killer.

Now that we have begun round 14 see more of the letter A at: http://abcwednesday-mrsnesbitt.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Antrol Ant poison

  1. Wow! That is precious even if it held poison once!
    Happy ABCW!

  2. Kalpana Solsi

    The green bottle looks ordinary but is deadly.

  3. I wonder if Antrol would work on the fire arts that are so difficult to eradicate here. I guess we will never know.

  4. I can remember when products used to come in glass bottles. Carver, ABC Wed. Team

  5. Well, sweetness and DEATH! Yikes!
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  6. Well it sounds like the murder weapon of choice:-) Its fascinating what used to be sold over the counter.
    Joy – ABC Team

  7. Very original take on the letter A. Looking forward to the trip through the alphabet.

  8. Times change don’t they. Now they call them antiques, what does that say about me?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.