Rust and Renovation

Rust is very popular among a certain group of people who love things in their natural state of aging, I am one of those people.

Now don’t get me wrong I like a shiny new thing now and again but I love the history of an item that has aged in place, doing the job it was made for through long years of heat, rain and all sorts of weather.

IMG_20140512_132649_761

I went along as “the sidekick” to a tow yard/ Wrecking yard/private collection to check out some vintage gas pumps but there was a whole lot more to see!

IMG_20140512_133133

The owner of the place went from “I don’t know that I am selling any gas pumps today” to “Wait a sec, let me get a key and show you the inside of these containers” as we walked the yard and he became more comfortable with us, found more common ground and generally were his kind of folks.

Rusty hood, flatbed stage, Westcoaster & Merry-go-round

Rusty hood, flatbed stage, Westcoaster & Merry-go-round

My friend bought a couple of pump panels and a few signs and I had a great time wandering around the place taking pictures, talking Jeeps and sharing tall tales.

IMG_20140512_132621_066

 

Plus he had a Quonset hut…I have always wanted one of my very own.

All photos this week are straight out of my phone, it is all either of us remembered to bring since we were too excited about the junking trip while trying to look all calm and cool!

See more of the letter “R” at: http://abcwednesday-mrsnesbitt.blogspot.com/

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Rust and Renovation

  1. Gives a whole new meaning to R&R!

  2. Oh Janis, – what a day you must have had! I have people in my family who would have been in heaven with you….so to speak.!!

  3. old stuff has…character. yeah, that’s it…
    ROG, ABCW

  4. lesliebc

    Made me think of that TV show called (I think) Rick’s Renos. Love those old barber chairs!

    Leslie
    abcw team

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.