5 Material things

In a recent email a friend gave us this query:

If my house needed to be evacuated what 5 material possessions would I want to save?  This does not include loved ones, animals, important documents, computer files or photographs- just five material possessions in the house

This is my reply to him , his list follows in the original email (Hope you do not mind my sharing this Randy!)

This is really hard to choose after the things you listed that we all would take.
Bob will have to have his own list , this is mine:
1.Tish’s bed from living room
2.Olivia De Javalina, a rather large Javalina half I have over my desk
3.the Coca Cola machine (a round top from 1953)
4.My great aunts Bow and rifle that have been mine since my uncle passed away
5. The Motors Manuals from my best friend Kenny who has also passed away, they are irreplaceable to me.

So here is a pretty picture if fire or flood should come to my home:
Me in my PJ’s with Tish and all the papers and photos safely in the Hot Rod,
Armed with Bow and rifle , toting a stuffed wild pig (front half) But able to offer the neighborhood a cold bottle Coke  or repair their antique automobile!

Really I swear I CANNOT see Russia from my porch…maybe Mexico…
Janis
Who now sounds a little stranger than most days.

Original email :

“I was cleaning the house this morning and I asked myself a question.  If my house needed to be evacuated what 5 material possessions would I want to save?  This does not include loved ones, animals, important documents, computer files or photographs- just five material possessions in the house?  I came up with a list- but I found it incredibly difficult to come up with five material possessions we would want to make sure I had (I think Lee is still working on his list).

In a world of materialism and greed it seems somehow gratifying to know that coming up with five material possessions that you would definitely want to save is difficult….  For me it puts things into prospective about what truly is important.

What are your five?

My list is:

1.  A stuffed puppy that I travel with

2.  Darwin’s bed

3.  A book I received from Civil Rights hero Congressman John Lewis who wrote a message in the front of the book

4.  A bowl that Lee and I got in Venice.  The bowl was something Lee and I both spotted and knew that the other would love it- to me it symbolizes our connection.

5.  A box of Christmas ornaments that we have received from friends throughout the years.  (Most of our ornaments are gifts from friends).”

So I find I agree with Randy ,after all is said and done , no matter how much we enjoy our “Stuff” we are hard pressed to choose and place a value on this material that we weave through our lives .

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.